“We the Church of Christ do earnestly endeavor by the blessing of God to establish the faith and practice of the primitive disciples of our blessed Lord and to be guided by the Word of God and that alone.”

 “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

John 3:16

Upcoming Events


All church activities are canceled because of the COVID-19 virus

Church Service with Pastor Jim is live every Sunday at 10:00 am

On First Christian Church Facebook Page

Please pray for everyone affected with the Coronavirus,Our first responders and our medical people


Church Activities


churchThe need for a church home was a pressing and vital problem for the people of Shadyside who claimed membership in the brotherhood of the Disciples of Christ in the year 1900.  To satisfy this need and to plan for a permanent church building, a meeting was arranged for January 19, 1902, with Brother Martin of the Bellaire church in charge.
The first meeting was held on the following Wednesday evening, and old records show that those present included C.W. Rodefer, Mary B. Rodefer, A. Stricling, Mrs. Strickling, L. Thompson, C. Thompson, J. Davis, Mrs. A. Thompson, Mrs. Mattie Marsh, and George Skilton.
This was an enthusiastic meeting and during the evening the Rodefer family donated three lots toward the establishment of a church.  Pledges were made and the time set for the next assemblage would mark the beginning of an evangelistic series.         
A committee was appointed and after some time spent in drawing plans and securing estimates, a meeting was called for September 20, 1904 to launch the building program on its way.  Ground breaking for the basement took place on November 9, 1904.  On October 1, 1905 the church building was ready for use and was able to hold its first regular church service with Brother Spears of Martins Ferry preaching.               
The charter members of this congregation signed their names to the following staement: 
“We whose names are appended do hereby unite ourselves into a congregation to be known as The Church of Christ in Shadyside, Ohio, and we do earnestly endeavor by the blessing of God to establish the faith and practice of the primitive disciples of our blessed Lord and to be guided by the Word of God and that alone.”


“As members of the Christian Church, we confess that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of the living God, and proclaim him Lord and Savior of the world. In Christ’s name and by his grace we accept our mission of witness and service to all people. We rejoice in God, maker of heaven and earth, and in God’s covenant of love which binds us to God and to one another. Through baptism into Christ we enter into newness of life and are made one with the whole people of God. In the communion of the Holy Spirit we are joined together in discipleship and in obedience to Christ. At the Table of the Lord we celebrate with thanksgiving the saving acts and presence of Christ. Within the universal church, we receive the gift of ministry and the light of scripture. In the bonds of Christian faith we yield ourselves to God that we may serve the One whose kingdom has no end. Blessing, glory, and honor be to God forever. Amen.”  (Disciples of Christ Confession of Faith)

Committees/Small Groups

The Pastors Relation Committee (PRC)  is a committee formed so the pastor has support from his leaders in the church.  “This committee also informs the pastor of uneasy situations within the congregation." 

Meets-  At the church every 2nd Tuesday of the month  6:00 pm.

Members of this committee-
Paul Beekman
Joyce Mellott
Victoria Mounsey
Jayson Johnson
Karen Conrad   

The Worship Committee

Marleen Workman and Vicki Jo Smith, Co-Chair
Bob Stillion
Deb Kellner
Jillian Ongley
Marci Quirk
Donna Elson
Dave Simmons
Lois Doneson
Mark Bonar
Jacob Mounsey

The Christian Education Committee

Joan Duncan, Chair
Trebor Doneson
Janelle Brown
Mark Duncan
Victoria Mounsey
Dan Mounsey
Kiana Duncan

Membership Committee

Lynne Johnson
Dora Lee Clouston
Becky Beekman
Bethany White
Elizabeth Stillion
Sharon Elliott
Michael Mounsey

Outreach Committee

Jenna Coyne, Chair
Marge Wilson
Wilda Warren
Jaclyn Johnson
Alyssa Mounsey
Nikki Duncan
Brendan Duncan

Dinner Committee

Deb Kellner and Pat Stewart, Co-chair
Karen Conrad
Evelyn Adriano
Denise Hans
Kathy Bonar
Lauren May
Bernie Slack
Denise Stewart
Karli Bonar

Finance Committee

Joyce Mellott, Chair
Marleen Workman
Mark Bonar
Becky Beekman
Richard Kellner
George Marty
Elizabeth Stillion


Mark Bonar, Chair
Joyce Mellott
Marleen Workman
Becky Beekman
Wilda Warren
Elizabeth Stillion
Bob Stillion

Small Groups

CMW- The Christian Mission Workers is a group of believers who fellowship together by enjoying conversations, coffee, and mission oriented tasks.  These mission oriented task are done for the church and other charitable opportunities.  

Meets- At the church every Tuesday at 9:00am.